Section Settings: Options Submenu

Options Submenu

Path: Home > Courses > [Course Screen] > Settings [Gear] > Options > Submenu

Edit Settings

This screen lets you define the basic settings for a Section/Course.

Edit Descriptions/Messages

This screen allows you to manage the custom descriptions and messages for a given Section of a Course.

TIP: All the text boxes have a WYSIWYG editor but in the Course Message, the Course Description box, you can also access the following tools as well: Embed video, insert an image or flash and even create a table. For more information on embedding video refer to the article: Embed Video in Course Description.

Note: The custom Evaluation Reminder Email if set up will be utilized for all types of Evaluations which are tied to the Course.

Section Export

This option will generate an XML document with the details of the current Section/Course that can be imported back into another Course in the System.

The XML file and all of the documents for the Section/Course will be combined in a .ZIP file.

Select the content that you want to export using the check boxes.

Add New Section

This is the first step in creating a new Section:

  • Selecting the Academic Year.
  • Once the Academic Year has been selected, the next step will be to set the date range
  • And set the optional campus for the Course/Section/Rotation.
Edit Course Term

This screen allows you to define the Term for this Course (or Section/Rotation). Because terms, and even years, can be different in different Programs over the same time span, you must specify the Academic Year, Program, and Term.

Use the delete check box to change the active status of a Term

Student File Option

This option, if selected, will allow Students to upload files to the current Course. All Student files will be in a special Student Files category and these files will not be rolled over as part of the Course Rollover Process. Any enrolled Student can upload or revise these documents. In small group settings only the Students in the Small Group will be able to upload files.

Custom Section Dates

This screen allows you to enter custom dates and year settings for this particular Course/section/rotation.

The values entered here will override the values imported from the Registrar.

Note that if you do not import data from your Registrar, or some other external system, then you do not need to set these values: You can just change the actual Course settings.

 

Section Checklist

The Course Check List is a tool designed to help you ensure that your Courses are fully functional, which means:

  • Faculty, Directors, and Coordinators have been assigned
  • Events are Live (not Tentative)
  • Groups have been properly assigned to the Course by Event Type
  • Objectives have been assigned at the Course level

It easiest to use the Course Check List by starting with the Course Roll Over option, and then use the options in the first column (left column) from top to bottom, and then the right column, from top to bottom.  Items with a red/yellow/green traffic light are items that have a status associated with the action. Items with an orange start are there because they may prove useful, but are not required.

Each item has hover messages that describe what the option does, and why it may be flagged Red or Yellow.

Course Roll Over - this element links to the Course Roll Over option which is used to copy content from older versions of the Course into the current Section.

Standard Groups - the 5 core groups for the Course. If the Student, Faculty, or Course Director group is empty then there will be flag on this item.

Default Groups - each Event Type active in the Course should have a set of Default Groups associated with it to ensure the correct groups are always assigned.

Small Groups - this is an optional element. You may need to create Small Groups to assign to these to Events in the" Events without Students" option.

Events without Students - If there are any Events that do not have any Students assigned, there will be a red flag on this element. You can click on the element to assign the Students to Events.

No Instructor - if there are any Events that do not have an Instructor, this element will have a red flag. You can click on the element to assign the Faculty.

Enrollment per Event - this option shows the number of Students assigned to each Event in the Course. The purpose is to let you review the Student counts per Event for any outliers. Outliers are often caused by extra groups being assigned.

Course Directors - this option will show a red flag if there are no Course Directors assigned. Click on the link to assign Course Directors.

Course Coordinators - this option will show a looking glass (yellow light) if there are no Course Coordinators assigned. You can click on the link to assign Course Coordinators.

Assigned Staff - this option lets you assign Staff to the Course. There is no status associated with this element.

Goals and Objectives - this element will have a red flag if there are less than 10 Objectives assigned at the Course level. You can click on the link to assign Objectives.

Tentative Events - when Events are copied into the Course via upload or Course roll over they are assigned a tentative status. This means the Events are not visible to Students. To remove the tentative setting, click on the link and choose the Tentative -> Live option.

Auto Reminder Settings - this element has no status. Click on the link to customize the Faculty reminders for this Course.

Rollover

This option allows you Rollover Materials, Events, and settings from a previous instance of the Course into the current Course.

You can select the elements that you want copied over via the checklist presented on the main screen.

Once you select the source - the Course/section from which you will be copying information - a list of the Event Types used in that previous Course/Section will be displayed. You can unselect any Event Type that you do not wish to copy over.

The Course Rollover always copies the content (documents, web links, etc) from the previous Course. Your option is whether or not to mark these documents as deleted when they are copied to the new Course. Here are the considerations to use when making this decision:

  • If you are going to replace more that 50% of the documents, then keep the DEL options checked
  • If you are going to use more than 50% of the document copied over then un-check the DEL option
Delete All Events

This option will allow System Administrators the ability to purge or delete all events in the current Section.

Delete or Purge All Events in a Course Section

Path: Home > Courses > [Course Screen] > Settings [Gear] > Options > Submenu > Delete All Events

If you select Delete: The delete option will set all active events to deleted status. The records will still exists and can be restored

If you select Purge: The purge mode will permanently erase all the deleted events in this course

Delete Option

If you have selected the Delete option. This will mark all active standard events in this course as deleted.

You will be able to use the quick un-delete or other other un-delete options to restore these deleted events.

Once you click Yes to Delete the Standard Events in this Course, you will be required to type in the confirmation code for Delete the Events.

Purge Option

If you have selected the Purge option. This will perminantly remove all deleted standard events in this course.

This operations cannot be undone. Once the purged is run, the deleted events will be completely erased from the system.

Once you click Yes to Purge the Standard Events in this Course, you will be required to type in the confirmation code for Purging the Events.  You will receive a confirmation message once the Events have been purged.